Community MVP Program

Congratulations to Ethan Beumer, our 2016 winner.

The KCP&L Community MVP program is intended to spotlight the youth in the Greater Kansas City region who are working hard to give back. Teens volunteering to make a positive difference in the lives around them can nominate themselves, or the nomination can be submitted on their behalf—often from parents, neighbors or school staff. 

Each year, 10 Community MVP finalists are selected by KCP&L from all the nominations submitted. The finalist with the most votes receives a $5,000 scholarship. The other nine finalists each receive a $1,000 scholarship. In addition, all finalists are invited to receive a Kansas City Chiefs VIP game-day experience at Arrowhead Stadium.

Congratulations to Ethan Beumer, our 2016 winner

Ethan Beumer from Kansas City Mo., who was nominated by his mother, became our Community MVP for 2016. A student at Winnetonka High School, Ethan volunteers with a number of organizations by way of Eagle Projects, National Honor Society and Harvesters and is a recipient of the Eagle Scout Award. He has helped his community by building retaining walls to prevent erosion along with new landscaping and installing trail markers with location codes to make people safer in their local parks. Ethan volunteers monthly at the Habitat ReStore facility, offers babysitting for teachers during conferences, volunteers at the local community thrift store, and serves lunch at the City Union Mission. He also supports the Feed Northland Kids BackSnack program, which provides meals to children in his community. 

Other 2016 finalists include:
  • Atheah Roberts (Fillmore, Mo.)
  • Jose Garcia  (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Meghan Bell (Lee's Summit, Mo.)
  • Maxwell McKinney (Lee's Summit, Mo.)
  • Cole Biery (Lenexa, Kans.)
  • Hannah Nelson (Lenexa, Kans.)
  • Hannah Bond (Nevada, Mo.)
  • Ali Shewey (Skidmore, Mo.)
  • Lexi Puett (St. Joseph, Mo.)

2015 Community MVP winners

2015 MVP winnerBailey Curry from Sedalia, Mo., who was nominated by her school guidance counselor, became our first Community MVP winner in 2015. Bailey serves as Executive Director of Community Café (soup kitchen), which includes scheduling groups, buying supplies, and finding other volunteers. She also received the World Community Day Award from the Church of United Women.

Our other 2015 finalists include:
  • Robbie Holmquist (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Laraib Sani (St. Joseph, Mo.)
  • Cole Diggins (Moundville, Mo.)
  • Cooper Link (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Chloe Schade (Lenexa, Kans.)
  • Makayla Hedge (St. Joseph, Mo.)
  • Jaida Ramsdell (Olathe, Kans.)
  • Amelia Smith (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Ashley Hoerl (Kansas City, Mo.).
Congratulations to everyone, and thank you for your service to our community.