KCP&L Community MVP: Past Winners

Congratulations to our past winners – students who lead by example through their dedication and service.

It takes a lot of dedication and hard work to be a Community MVP. Past Community MVP winners have all helped energize their communities in many ways. Congratulations, everyone, and thank you for your service to our community.

2016 Community MVP winners

Ethan Beumer from Kansas City Mo., who was nominated by his mother, became our Community MVP for 2016. A student at Winnetonka High School, Ethan volunteered with a number of organizations by way of Eagle Projects, National Honor Society and Harvesters and is a recipient of the Eagle Scout Award. He has helped his community by building retaining walls to prevent erosion along with new landscaping and installing trail markers with location codes to make people safer in their local parks. Ethan volunteers monthly at the Habitat ReStore facility, offers babysitting for teachers during conferences, volunteers at the local community thrift store, and serves lunch at the City Union Mission. He also supports the Feed Northland Kids BackSnack program, which provides meals to children in his community. 

Other 2016 finalists include:
  • Atheah Roberts (Fillmore, Mo.)
  • Jose Garcia  (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Meghan Bell (Lee's Summit, Mo.)
  • Maxwell McKinney (Lee's Summit, Mo.)
  • Cole Biery (Lenexa, Kans.)
  • Hannah Nelson (Lenexa, Kans.)
  • Hannah Bond (Nevada, Mo.)
  • Ali Shewey (Skidmore, Mo.)
  • Lexi Puett (St. Joseph, Mo.)

2015 Community MVP winners

2015 MVP winnerBailey Curry from Sedalia, Mo., who was nominated by her school guidance counselor, became our first Community MVP winner in 2015. Bailey serves as Executive Director of Community Café (soup kitchen), which includes scheduling groups, buying supplies, and finding other volunteers. She also received the World Community Day Award from the Church of United Women.

Our other 2015 finalists include:
  • Robbie Holmquist (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Laraib Sani (St. Joseph, Mo.)
  • Cole Diggins (Moundville, Mo.)
  • Cooper Link (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Chloe Schade (Lenexa, Kans.)
  • Makayla Hedge (St. Joseph, Mo.)
  • Jaida Ramsdell (Olathe, Kans.)
  • Amelia Smith (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Ashley Hoerl (Kansas City, Mo.).