KCP&L Community MVP: Past Winners

Congratulations to our winners – students who lead by example through their dedication and service.

It takes a lot of dedication and hard work to be a Community MVP. Past Community MVP winners have all helped energize their communities in many ways. Congratulations, everyone, and thank you for your service to our community.

Congratulations to Ruby Rios, 2017 Winner

Congratulations to Ruby Rios, our 2017 MVP winner!Ruby Rios from Kansas City, Mo., who was nominated by her father, is our Community MVP for 2017. Ruby has been very active in the Kansas City area, working to improve STEM education for young people, particularly girls. She volunteered as a teaching assistant at five Kansas City-area girls-only summer camps to teach computer programming. She also started two new Girls Who Code clubs during the previous school year, one at the KC STEM Alliance and another at Bishop Miege High School, and helped facilitate weekly meetings for both. Ruby co-founded KC STEMinists, a new local program to teach girls about technology, entrepreneurship and global issues. The co-founders obtained sponsors and planned and taught the curriculum to a group of girls on Saturdays at John County Community College. Ruby maintains a dialogue about STEM programs for youth with local civic leaders from the Missouri state government, Girls Scouts, KC STEM Alliance, the Hispanic Chamber and Cerner. Ruby is active with her Bishop Miege robotics team, where she has helped organize educational robotics events. This past summer, she was one of 20 girls nationwide invited to attend WiSci 2017 in Malawi Africa, a three-week science and technology camp sponsored by the United Nations. There they worked on projects with 80 girls from various African countries. Ruby gave a TED talk about her STEM experiences at a TEDxYouth KC event in October and will repeat her talk in November at TEDxKC Women.

Congratulations to our other 2017 finalists:

  • Allen Jones (Liberty, Mo.)
  • Shea Fitzgerald (Holden, Mo.)
  • Easton Hunt (Overland Park, Ks.)
  • Adam Malisos (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Kallista Noel (Oregon, Mo.)
  • Tiana Thompson (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Yakini Kasimu (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Roma Delaughder (Shawnee, Ks.)
  • Daytona Hodson (Olathe, Ks.)

2016 Community MVP Winners

Ethan Beumer from Kansas City Mo., who was nominated by his mother, became our Community MVP for 2016. A student at Winnetonka High School, Ethan volunteered with a number of organizations by way of Eagle Projects, National Honor Society and Harvesters and is a recipient of the Eagle Scout Award. He has helped his community by building retaining walls to prevent erosion along with new landscaping and installing trail markers with location codes to make people safer in their local parks. Ethan volunteers monthly at the Habitat ReStore facility, offers babysitting for teachers during conferences, volunteers at the local community thrift store, and serves lunch at the City Union Mission. He also supports the Feed Northland Kids BackSnack program, which provides meals to children in his community. 

Other 2016 finalists include:

  • Atheah Roberts (Fillmore, Mo.)
  • Jose Garcia  (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Meghan Bell (Lee's Summit, Mo.)
  • Maxwell McKinney (Lee's Summit, Mo.)
  • Cole Biery (Lenexa, Ks.)
  • Hannah Nelson (Lenexa, Ks.)
  • Hannah Bond (Nevada, Mo.)
  • Ali Shewey (Skidmore, Mo.)
  • Lexi Puett (St. Joseph, Mo.)

2015 Community MVP Winners

2015 MVP winnerBailey Curry from Sedalia, Mo., who was nominated by her school guidance counselor, became our first Community MVP winner in 2015. Bailey serves as Executive Director of Community Café (soup kitchen), which includes scheduling groups, buying supplies, and finding other volunteers. She also received the World Community Day Award from the Church of United Women.


Our other 2015 finalists include: 

  • Robbie Holmquist (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Laraib Sani (St. Joseph, Mo.)
  • Cole Diggins (Moundville, Mo.)
  • Cooper Link (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Chloe Schade (Lenexa, Ks.)
  • Makayla Hedge (St. Joseph, Mo.)
  • Jaida Ramsdell (Olathe, Ks.)
  • Amelia Smith (Kansas City, Mo.)
  • Ashley Hoerl (Kansas City, Mo.)